Frequently Asked Questions:

What is Housing Discrimination:

Housing discrimination occurs when you are prevented/denied from living in a house or apartment where you choose due to your race, color, religion, national origin, sex, physical or mental disability, or familial status, (generally the presence of children in your family.)  Federal and state laws prohibit housing discrimination on the basis these protected classes. Persons with disabilities probably qualify for an “accommodation for a secure affordable, support, animal” under the federal fair housing act.

What are the federally protected classes under the FHA?

Federal law protects people based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, or familial status.

Are both mental and physical disabilities protected?

Yes. The FHA protects anyone with a disability, mental or physical, from discrimination in housing.

What is “Familial Status”?

Familial status generally refers to the presence of children under 18. Other family-related situations are also protected.

Am I entitled to a support/service animal if the place I am renting has a “no pets” policy?

Support animals, service animals, and companion animals are not legally considered “pets,” and you are entitled to a support animal regardless of the housing provider’s policy on pets. Call us for more information about specific issues at 208-383-0695